PEARL "THE GOLDEN RING"

Kostroma is rightly the pearl of the "Golden ring" of Russia.

Read More

HISTORICAL PLACE

The history of Kostroma is inextricably linked with the history of Russia. A lot of historical, significant events of Russia took place in Kostroma.

Read More

REST FOR THE SOUL

Kostroma is rich not only in history, but also in very beautiful places. And the great Volga river will be pleased with unforgettable boat trips and fascinating fishing.

Read More

INTERESTING PLACE


Some interesting places
Monument to Ivan Susanin in Kostroma (1967). The name of Ivan Susanin, who gave his life for the king, is known to many fans of history. In the glorious city on the Volga is a monument to the Martyr who died a terrible death for the sake of saving the life of the monarch.
Memorial " Glory to soldiers-Kostroma, participants of the great Patriotic war." A Grand composition of bronze, created by sculptors M. F. Baburin, G. p. Levitsky and architect E. I. Kutyrev and established in 1972
The Monument To Yuri Dolgoruky. It was established after celebration of the 850 anniversary of the city in 2003. In 1152 Yuri Dolgoruky founded Kostroma and its existence it owes primarily to the Grand Duke.
Female Epiphany monastery of St. Anastasia in Kostroma region is where the famous wonderworking Theodorov icon of the mother of God, the Epiphany monastery was founded by a disciple of Sergius of Radonezh Nikita back in the 15th century
The ancient monastery, located in the Western part of Kostroma, stands alone among Russian monasteries. It stands out not only the ancient history, which dates back to the XIV century. This monastery has played a leading role in the formation of the Royal dynasties of the Godunov and Romanovs and today keeps unique icons and values.
At the entrance to the ancient Russian city of Kostroma, beautifully spread on the banks of the beautiful Volga river, rises to the sky the famous bell tower of the Znamenskaya Church — the great Orthodox Shrine of the Kostroma region, an outstanding monument of Russian architecture of the XVII century. For three and a half centuries, each person entering Kostroma from the Volga region, can not help but notice this gift of God and admire it.
Fire tower (1824-1827) on Susaninskaya square is a symbol of Kostroma. Architect-Peter Fursov. Fire tower in Kostroma is a proud title given to her by the Emperor: "the Best fire tower of the Russian province." This is the pride of the city.
The red rows in Kostroma — an outstanding monument of Russian civil architecture of the end XVIII — first third XIX century in the classical style, one of the shopping malls of Kostroma, including worship of the XVIII century and of critical importance in the development of the city centre.

THE HISTORY OF THE CITY OF KOSTROMA


Little history
ANCIENT KOSTROMA

The date of Foundation of Kostroma is considered to be 1152, and it is associated with the name of Prince Yuri Dolgoruky, expelled from the throne of Kiev and later laid a number of ancient cities. This information is drawn from the works of the outstanding historian of the XVIII century. Tatishcheva, however, the materials that served as a source for such a conclusion, have not survived, and his statements have to be taken on faith.

Read More
KOSTROMA IN THE USSR

In the Soviet period, Kostroma ceased to be a provincial city and in January 1929 by the decision of the Soviet Union became part of the Yaroslavl region. Like the whole country, it was involved in the process of industrialization, the manifestation of which was the accelerated development of the city's woodworking, textile and light industry. In February 1932, the construction of a large railway bridge connecting the two banks of the Volga river was completed.

Read More
MODERN KOSTROMA

Today, Kostroma is a city of regional significance with a population of 277 649 people (2017 data). Its area is 144.6 km.on the basis of the legislation of the Russian Federation and the heraldic rules, symbols are officially established, among them - the flag and coat of arms of Kostroma, fully corresponding to the one that was granted to the city in 1767 by Empress Catherine II.

Read More

ЖЕМЧУЖИНА "ЗОЛОТОГО КОЛЬЦА"

Кострома является по праву жемчужиной "Золотого кольца " России. 

Читать далее

ИСТОРИЧЕСКИЕ МЕСТА

История Костромы неразрывно связана с историей России. Очень много исторических, значимых событий России свершились в Костроме

Читать далее

ОТДЫХ ДЛЯ ДУШИ

Кострома богата не только историей, но и очень красивыми местами. А великая река Волга порадует незабываемыми прогулками на катере и увлекательной рыбалкой.

Читать далее

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЕ МЕСТА


Некоторые интересные места
Памятник Ивану Сусанину в Костроме (1967 г.). Имя Ивана Сусанина, отдавшего жизнь за царя, известно многим любителям истории. В славном городе на Волге  стоит памятник мученику, погибшему страшной смертью ради спасения жизни монарха. 
Мемориал "Слава воинам-костромичам, участникам Великой Отечественной войны". Грандиозная композиция из бронзы, созданная скульпторами М.Ф. Бабуриным, Г.П. Левицким и архитектором Е.И. Кутыревым и установленная в 1972 году
Памятник Юрию Долгорукому. Он был установлен после празднования 850-летнего юбилея города в 2003 году. В 1152 году Юрий Долгорукий основал Кострому и своим существованием она обязана, прежде всего, великому князю.
Женский Богоявленско-Анастасиин монастырь в Костромской области — место хранения знаменитой чудотворной Феодоровской иконы Богоматери, Первый деревянный Богоявленский монастырь основал ученик Сергия Радонежского преподобный Никита еще в 15 веке
Старинный мужской монастырь, расположенный в западной части Костромы, стоит особняком среди русских обителей. Он выделяется не только древней историей, берущей начало в XIV веке. Этот монастырь сыграл ведущую роль в становлении царских династий Годуновых и Романовых и сегодня хранит уникальные иконы и ценности.
При въезде в древний русский город Кострому, живописно раскинувшийся на берегу красавицы Волги, возносится к небу знаменитая колокольня Знаменской церкви — великая православная святыня Костромского края, выдающийся памятник русского зодчества XVII века. На протяжении трех с половиной столетий каждый человек, въезжающий в Кострому из Заволжья, не может не заметить этот Божий дар и не залюбоваться им. 
Пожарная каланча (1824—1827 гг.) на Сусанинской площади — символ Костромы. Архитектор - Пётр Иванович Фурсов. Пожарная каланча в Костроме носит гордый титул, данный ей самим императором: «Лучшая пожарная каланча российской провинции». Это предмет гордости города.
Красные ряды в Костроме — выдающийся памятник русского гражданского зодчества конца XVIII — первой трети XIX вв. в стиле классицизма, один из торговых комплексов Костромы, включающий в себя также культовые сооружения XVIII в. и имеющий исключительно важное значение в застройке центра города.

ИСТОРИЯ ГОРОДА КОСТРОМА


Немного истории
ДРЕВНЯЯ КОСТРОМА

Датой же основания Костромы принято считать 1152 год, и связывают ее с именем князя Юрия Долгорукого, изгнанного с киевского престола и заложившего впоследствии целый ряд древнерусских городов. Эта информация почерпнута из работ выдающегося историка XVIII века В. Н. Татищева, однако материалы, послужившие ему источником для такого заключения, не сохранились, и его утверждения приходится принимать на веру.

Читать далее
КОСТРОМА ПРИ СССР

В советский период Кострома перестала быть губернским городом и с января 1929 года постановлением ВЦИК СССР вошла в состав Ярославской области. Как и вся страна, она была втянута в процесс индустриализации, проявлением которого стало форсированное развитие в городе деревообрабатывающей, текстильной и лёгкой промышленности. В феврале 1932 года было завершено строительство крупного железнодорожного моста, соединившего оба берега Волги.

Читать далее
СОВРЕМЕННАЯ КОСТРОМА

Сегодня Кострома является городом областного значения с населением 277 649 человек (данные 2017 года). Его площадь составляет 144,6 км². На основании законодательства РФ и геральдических правил официально установлены символы, среди которых - флаг и герб Костромы, полностью соответствующий тому, который был дарован городу в 1767 году императрицей Екатериной II.

Читать далее